Proof reading your work has sadly become an afterthought. I blame it on our penchant for firing off a quick message in a text or email. That style of “writing” is geared for quick communication.  Abbreviations and internet slang are the norm.

You know the language. LOL, IDK, BTW, LMK, OMG, THX.

There is still a need for good, make that great, writing.

I have been writing since I was a child. Even with more than 40 years of practice, I am by no means perfect on those first drafts. When I sit down to write that first draft I focus on getting my thoughts on “paper”.  Round two, I fine tune it. Round three, I proof read and lastly, I read it out loud. That’s #5 on the list below.

I have caught more oversights when I have read my work out loud. I think it’s one of the best proofing tools out there.  Read this great tip sheet from Grammarly to help you get in the habit of proofing your work.

After all, you don’t want your audience to remember you for mistakes. You want them to remember you for your creativity.  

Proof It Tips